You are here

After Apocalypse: Four Japanese Plays of Hiroshima and Nagasaki

71 After Apocalypse
David G. GOODMAN, translator
Publication Year: 
Publication Number: 

Plays by Hotta Kiyomi, Tanaka Chikao, Betsuyaku Minoru, and Satoh Makoto. Selected, translated, and introduced by David G. Goodman.

Written between 1955 and 1969, the four plays collected in this volume are the product of one of the most fertile periods in modern Japanese cultural history, the first quarter century after World War II. They evince an engagement with history, a seriousness of purpose, and a concern with universal issues that have few parallels in other periods. | 344 pages


Preface | Introduction

Hotta Kiyomi: The Island

  • Introduction: Orthodox Realism
  • The Island

Tanaka Chikao: The Head of Mary

  • Introduction: Nagasaki as Theophany
  • The Head of Mary: A Nagasaki Fantasia

Betsuyaku Minoru: The Elephant

  • Introduction: The Absurdity of the Real
  • The Elephant

Satoh Makoto: Nezumi Koto: The Rat

  • Introduction: Holocaust as Metahistory
  • Nezumi Koto: The Rat


  • "A real contribution to our understanding of post-war Japan, raising questions political, moral, and spiritual that all of us must learn to face as human beings, whatever our national or cultural origin." - Journal of Asian Studies

  • David GOODMAN (1946-2011) was the editor-translator of Land of Volcanic Ash, editor of Five Plays by Kishida Kunio, and author of Japanese Drama and Culture in the 1960s. He was Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

ISBN (hardcover): 
ISBN (paperback): 
Price (paperback):